Military to Civilian Lessons Learned

ElWood64D

I really appreciate this write-up, especially as a new 64 pilot. I graduated Fligh school this past June and have been trying to get serious about logging my flight time. I decided to keep a logbook that I log per 95-1 to ensure that flight ops is accurate. I also decided to keep a logbook to log per civilian requirements, which I'm about to start.

I have been confused about logging the PIC for the civilian side. I made RL1 at my unit this past November roughly. So I should only be logging PIC in my civilian logbook for the time of the flight I am the sole manipulator of the controls right?

Or per your write-up. Once I made RL1 I can log PIC for the entirety of the flight, including when I'm not even on the controls, because I'm in a PIC training program? This one reason is the reason I haven't started my civilian logbook because everyone I talk to at the unit logs their flight completely different.

And like you said almost everyone says to log total flight time per 95-1 and times it by like 1.3 when I get out of the army.

lol, when logging your actual flight times is just too hard, just multiply it all! What a joke.

Not as easy as that.

1) Be able to justify everything you've done. If your military records are 100 hours shorter than your civilian, be able to explain why. (The fact is, Army logs time COMPLETELY differently than FAA.) I disagree with a random multiplier of 1.3 It's FAR too much. If your prospective employer wants to do so, let them. But I can't justify it, so I don't.

2) As has been said before, if you're adjusting your times to meet the FAA definition, and you're JUST BARELY making the minimums, it's probably going to be looked at a lot closer than if you're several hundred hours over (in which case your military records probably show the same thing. Though PIC will NOT be the same.)