SAR Jobs

Hello!

I haven't posted on here for a while but just to remind you, I am an aspiring helicopter pilot (26 y/o) whom is currently at the saving money for flight training/researching anything and everything helicopters stage. I want to arm myself with as much knowledge as possible before I embark on this adventure. So with that being said...

I have general knowledge about some of the interesting jobs that may be available to me one day, jobs like instructing, tours, EMS for example. However, one type job that I've been struggling to find information on, search & rescue, is the one that interests me the most!

Are all of these SAR jobs really only available to ex military/reserve pilots? I know some of them definitely are, such as the U.S. Coast Guard but are there similar positions that accept civilian pilots with the right experience? What kind of experience would they be looking for?

For example I know that Bristow pretty much run SAR in the UK and it sort of mentions on their website that they have a mix of civilian/ex-mil pilots flying their helicopters.

Further on to Bristow UK SAR, should I really be going to Bristow flight academy if I ever want a shot at being a SAR pilot with them in the future or does it not work that way?

Also, are the SAR pilots flying over water and winching stranded people from the seas different than the pilots performing rescues over mountains or remote areas or is this all the same job?

I realise there are about 100 questions in this post so I appreciate any number of answers plus whatever advice anyone has to offer, cheers! :)

Are you a citizen of the commonwealth?