What Made You Choose Rotor Wing Over Fixed Wing?

After four flights in an airplane, what can I say?,...I just didn't enjoy it.

Demo flight in a 22, he picks it up into a two foot hover, I look around and think to myself, "this is awesome!". Two months later I'm a Private Chopper Pilot!

After four flights in an airplane, what can I say?,...I just didn't enjoy it.

Demo flight in a 22, he picks it up into a two foot hover, I look around and think to myself, "this is awesome!". Two months later I'm a Private Chopper Pilot!

How many days a week did you fly to earn your license in two months?

How many days a week did you fly to earn your license in two months?

Let's just say it was definitely a full-time experience. I was at the school pretty much every day whether it be for flight, ground, or to study for the written. Many times it was flight lesson, ground lesson, computer practice exams, lunch, flight lesson, go home and study.

• Like 1

Helicopters tend to require the pilot to always be flying the machine, not George.

Which brings up an interesting trivia question...

Why are autopilots named "George" ?

In answer to OP question...dual rated.

• Like 1

My father and uncle were airline pilots, older brother was chopper pilot, brother-in-law was bomber pilot, I asked for choppers or fighters, and got choppers.

Still ended up doing about 1500 hrs flying jets, but stayed in choppers in the civilian world. Probably because I was too bone-lazy to sit for the ATPL exams.

Avbug said:

Most non-IFR fixed wing flying involves hand flying, too.

Yes, but the plane is stable and wants to fly, and it will only crash if the pilot interferes with it. A helicopter is unstable, and designed to crash, and it is only the amazing co-ordinated skills of the intelligent, good-looking dude holding the cyclic that stops it from crashing. Unless he relaxes too much...

Which brings up an interesting trivia question...

Why are autopilots named "George" ?