Question on Army Reg / 24month BOLC requirement

Hello all,

So I am an ARNG officer who commissioned 12 months ago. I have 24 months from my commissioning date to attend BOLC. Current flight school spot for my unit is in 12 months, but it isn't my slot (I am #2 on the OML). The current estimate is that I will go FY18. So seeing how that will put me past my 24 month requirement to attend BOLC, I have been told that my unit will have to pass up a waiver for the 24m regulation.

So the question I have right now is this; Has anyone here been faced with the same issue in the careers or seen someone with it? if so what happened?

People in my unit have not seen this problem before so I want to try to prepare as much as possible so I don't lose my commission and my dream of flying helicopters professionally.

Thank you!

Hello all,

So I am an ARNG officer who commissioned 12 months ago. I have 24 months from my commissioning date to attend BOLC. Current flight school spot for my unit is in 12 months, but it isn't my slot (I am #2 on the OML). The current estimate is that I will go FY18. So seeing how that will put me past my 24 month requirement to attend BOLC, I have been told that my unit will have to pass up a waiver for the 24m regulation.

So the question I have right now is this; Has anyone here been faced with the same issue in the careers or seen someone with it? if so what happened?

People in my unit have not seen this problem before so I want to try to prepare as much as possible so I don't lose my commission and my dream of flying helicopters professionally.

Thank you!

Does ARNG let you pick your branch or is it based on OML at OCS?

To branch you put up a top 5. Depending on your state, it may not offer all branches. You have to be selected by the aviation unit in your state to even think about going aviation branch.