WOFT Essay Review

Alright I've revised it a couple times... A couple last reviews would be helpful as my board is in less than a week. I've done the searches, reviewed the information but if anyone has the time, a bit more of a tailored review would help. My recruiter's first language isn't English and I'm in a non-English speaking country so this is really my only resource apart from some Marines I went to HS with and I can't read corrections written in Crayon. Thanks in advance.

• 4 weeks later...

First thing right out of the gate is that it is too long. I would cut some of the history lesson in the beginning. You could also shave some with the submission of a resume instead of spelling out the credentials in the essay. I would cut some of that but leave in the family tradition, work in tanzania, and drive to be successful in challenging environments. I personally like the closing as well.

• Like 1

Hey Man I read it. I'm no expert and its strictly my opinion but you sound like a politician in some of those sentences. Its kind of long as well. I like the rugby references and the sports credentials you listed. I would shorten it though.

• Like 1

Hey Man I read it. I'm no expert and its strictly my opinion but you sound like a politician in some of those sentences. Its kind of long as well. I like the rugby references and the sports credentials you listed. I would shorten it though.

I kind of felt that way as well after some of the feedback... I'm taking an entirely new angle and rewriting the whole thing with a more genuine tone. It did seem generic so I'm going to do something that represents me more. I can hear the politicians "humble roots" speech now.

The fact you are willing to accept advise from strangers at this late date and are willing to revamp it speaks highly of your character. Frankly, it's tough to take advise from others and act on it. Good job.

Better to find out it's not up to snuff rather than give the board garbage.