Essay Critique Please

Be as brutal as possible.

Why I want to be an Army WOFT Aviator

Serving my country as a Soldier, leader and aviator will be one of the greatest honors of my life.  My mother and step-father were Army officers until retirement and my grandfather was a Soldier during WWII.  Growing up in this environment instilled in me the Army’s values and the desire to serve.  I admire the duty, loyalty and personal courage it takes to be a Soldier and know that I will be successful in this role.  My leadership skills, ability to adapt under pressure, and technical acumen demonstrate that I am an excellent warrant officer and aviator candidate. 

Over the last 5 years. I have worked as an unmanned aerial systems operator and have become an award-winning industry expert through self-study and drive. I fly technically-complex, heavy-lift unmanned aircraft, in order to inspect critical infrastructure, while also leading teams on jobsites. My decisions and attention to detail directly impact the safety and success of the flight missions.  Oftentimes, there is a high amount of pressure and visibility put on these missions due to weather, scheduling, budget, personnel issues, politics etc.  Despite this, I remain confident, complete my tasks, perform proper preflight and safety checks, and get the job done.  

It will be an honor to take on the responsibility of being a Soldier, leader, and aviator in selfless service to my country.   Becoming a part of the most lethal flying force in the world will be a big challenge, but I firmly believe that I will be a great asset to the US Army.  I will use my determination to succeed, desire to serve, and passion for aviation to stay motivated.  If given this opportunity, I will continue to build upon my leadership skills, become an excellent solider, and an effective aviator. 

To keep the feedback simple... that's good enough. Double check grammar and "army writing" style.