WOFT after foreign military service?

In a nutshell, I am an American who spent 5 years in the French Foreign Legion, with no prior service in the US military. For those of you who aren't familiar, it's a branch of the French Army open only to foreigners. I have a college degree, can score a 99 on the Asvab and am physically fit. However, there is the BOARD.   

In my mind, there is no way a board would accept me based on my foreign military service. Am I correct in this assumption? I imagine that all it takes for my application to be rejected is one hardliner who considers me to be some sort of a traitor. 

Undertaking this would require a lot of time and effort on my part; moving back to the states, getting a PPL-H to make my packet more competitive, scraping together LORs, etc. It would be foolish in my situation for me to go through all of that if the answer was always a flat out NO from day 1. Anyone with any insight on this? 

Thanks for reading and I appreciate any info you might have. 

Needless worry. 4 quick questions. Are you an American citizen? Are you in good health in passing a flight physical? Are you younger than 32?

Last question and the most important one, are you willing to Protect and Defend the Constitution of the UNITED STATES of AMERICA against all enemies both foreign and domestic with your life when called upon to do so?

Really no need in obtaining a helo ppl unless money is no object. More than a few are selected without flight experience as young as 18.

Drop your packet and you shouldn't have a problem. Unless you have piss poor LORs from the FFL. If I was on the selection board, I would be very interested in hearing your experiences in the Legion.

I wouldn't be surprised if there were US Army recruiters in Europe, especially Germany. Dependent US children in Europe can enlist in any service. Need not return to the states in doing so.