Looking for Female Mentor

Hello everyone,

I have especially enjoyed reading a lot of the topics discussed in this forum. I would love to be an army helicopter pilot but I have some questions for any aviators who would be willing to help. As a civilian, that long ADSO is daunting and I want to make sure I am making the right call. This is a big deal!

I have a degree from the University of Maryland in Communication. I graduated with a 3.794 GPA and scored a 93 on the ASVAB. I haven't taken the SIFT yet. I would like to be an army helicopter pilot but I am genuinely concerned about what it's really like for women in the Army. I have a girlfriend I would like to eventually marry and our quality of life over the next ten years is extremely important to me.

I am smart and competent and I really like the bad assery of being a soldier. I have been training for the ACFT and foresee no problems in BCT. I like the training the army gives you. This is my personal perception--I don't know any army pilots but would LOVE to connect and learn about your experiences. I have spoken to a female navy pilot and apparently the women over there have about a 50/50 ratio to men on helos. That's an entirely different world. 

1. What is it like for female officers? Considering my degree, do you think it's worth trying to branch aviation or should I drop a WOFT packet?

2. Do you know any women in the LGBT community? Are they treated differently? It is ok to be honest here--10 years is a long time.

3. Which branch would you join as a woman, and why? 

4. Are army aviators trained on fixed wing? 

Thank you very much in advanced. All are welcome to participate on this thread. Male perceptions are going to be equally as helpful!!

Not a woman, but...