SIFT Write Upo

I took the SIFT yesterday. Here is a solid in-depth write up on how it went, what it’s like, and background information about me.

Background

Education: 2.5 years college, Aviation Science major (100 hours of single engine fixed wing flight time)

MOS: 15T

My score: 58

Perceived difficulty of the SIFT: 6.5/10

Studying

I studied for about a month, trying to spend 30 minutes each day studying and familiarizing myself with the content of the SIFT. The last week I was trying to spend 45 to 60 minutes per day studying. I should say that I have known about the SIFT and it’s sub test since August, I just needed time in my schedule to study and actually take it.

·         I bought the Aegis group complete SIFT study guide (paper) from Amazon

Grade: A-     Nothing out of date, rather accurate for my test. The only reason why it’s not an A+ is because it’s a book and didn’t translate well to my online notes.

·         I lurked around and read through just about every post here on the Army Aviation subreddit and several on Vertical Reference

Not really a great source on actual questions but it made me feel more confident in what the test was like, this is where I learned about most of the test prep resources. I don’t really count these as a study source

·         I did each Trivium (free) online test about a dozen times over the course of 3 weeks

Grade: B      These tests were nice for having a feeling of what it’s like to do an online test and it tells you what you missed and what the correct answer was. The layouts are all weird and that didn’t help much for the simple drawings and hidden figures. Note that the reading section is not really accurate to the real SIFT at all. Over all, this is a good site to study, but it doesn’t get the small things right.

·         I did the Military Flight Tests online tests as well in the last week of my studying