Interested in Flying But Need Some Advice!

Hello all!

So last week I finally paid for a discovery flight after years of dreaming about flying helicopters for a living, and as expected I had an absolute blast! The thing that was holding me back all these years is the same as many others out there...the cost of training. The school that I chose told me that for a private license it's going to cost me about 25k, and 100k for a commercial license. The CFI that I flew with suggested that I don't even start training until I have 30k saved up, the reason being is that he had to take multiple long breaks during his training and had to re-learn everything each time he came back. As an Air Force vet I do have the GI bill to assist in the commercial license costs, but the VA will not cover the private license. Right now I don't make enough money to raise 30k any time soon, and most of the scholarships and grants that I have seen online are geared towards high school or college students, women and minorities, I'm a white male so many of them are off the table for me. I also do not want to obtain any loans, I can't afford going into debt at the moment. Does anyone out there have any advice or ideas to overcome this initial hurdle? 

23 hours ago, rovers14 said:

Hello all!