Left Hand pilot position

• 1 month later...
My understanding from a book that I read is that due to the three seat configuration in the front row, it was deemed safer to have the pilot (thus the collective) on the left side, away from interference from the center passenger. Not sure if this is correct but it makes sense.

I believe there is a right seat PIC version of the 369/500 series.

Longlining from the 500 in the left seat is fairly easy. Your body wants to lean left towards the collective. Slinging from the right side of a helicopter you will feel like you are leaning away from the collective. Not to say it is bad to sling from the right but some find it easier to sling from the left seat. My opinion is you get used to whichever seat you fly out of and learn how to deal with it.

I'm a rookie long line pilot, but can see how the left seat is a plus. Collective and cyclic from the right seat would be harder to control. And the left skid low attitude seems to help in seeing the load.

My 2 cents.  ::whistle::

• 8 months later...

I have over 800 hours of long-line experience in 500 series (500d-e and Notar) and i also sling with 206L and Astar.

I prefer to sling from the left side, it's easyer for the back, closer from the collective and also better grip and movement for the cyclic.

They probably put the PIC in the left seat like they do for planes. and also probably to make room for the middle passenger seat. there is not that much room in the middle anyway !:D

I really like flying the 500 series especially the notar ! it's such a great machine !

• 1 month later...
Main reason is seating. The 369A (military version) is right PIC because there are only two seats in front. Interestingly, this A model has special seats for the back that are nothing more than small pads you put on the floor, so that you can put more than 2 people in the back. I think you can fit 4 people sitting like that on the floor in the back.