LE Pilot Jobs

Just looking for a little help.

I am currently a Commercial/CFI rated helicopter pilot and working as a full time CFI with 900 hours PIC. I was a Deputy Sheriff for six years prior. My CA POST is still valid for another year and I am interested in becoming a LE helicopter pilot in CA. What is the best way to find LE pilot job openings in CA, or elsewhere for that matter? I realize that many departments only hire within and train their own people. My current POST and clean background would allow me to be sworn in as a peace officer, or maybe a civilian LE pilot position would be better suited for someone who is not already part of a big agency. Of course I would rather not work the street prior to flight duty if possible, but I know about "paying your do's". Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

Heli-Sky,

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but I think it would be extremely difficult for you to get an aviation slot in a CA law enforcement agency without current street time.  I would estimate that 80% of CA agencies hire deputies or police officers from within the Department.  To do that you usually need time on the street and time for the agency to get to know you before you are selected for aviation.  Your experience would definitely give you a leg up on the competition.  As for the 20% that hire civilian pilots I do not think you would meet the minimum requirements.  A quick search of the ALEA database and the lowest qualification I could find was 1000 PIC, 250 turbine.  Most want 1500 to 2500 PIC and 500 to 1000 turbine, Comm, CFI and Inst. ratings.  Talk to Flying Pig, I think he just recently lateralled to a new dept. and got a TFO slot which is the first step up to a pilot position.  Outside of CA you have a better shot. Florida seems to have job openings all the time.  A few others are Baltimore City and County.