Logging 44 time

ANUBIS

Hey every body just a quick question

I have been flying the R44 for the last 6 months and I have been told by some of my fellow pilots that I can add an additional .2 to my flight because the hobbs is collective activated and when running up and cooling down the hobbs is not turning.

what are your thoughts about this?

http://www.faasafety.gov/hottopics.aspx?id=20

Part 1 of the Federal Aviation Regulations contains definitions of terms used. It defines the following:

Flight time means:

(1) Pilot time that commences when an aircraft moves under its own power for the purpose of flight and ends when the aircraft comes to rest after landing; or

(2) For a glider without self-launch capability, pilot time is the time that commences when the glider is towed for the purpose of flight and ends when the glider comes to rest after landing.

Time in service, with respect to maintenance time records, means the time from the moment an aircraft leaves the surface of the earth until it touches it at the next point of landing.

Neither definition talks about tachometers or Hobbs meters, and clearly, they are not the same times. The term, “block to block” is a convenient way of describing “flight time”. It means that the aircraft has been started and may have been running for some period of time, but “flight time” doesn’t begin until it moves for the purpose of flight. The tachometer will have certainly begun recording time as soon as the engine was started, and the Hobbs meter, depending on how it is installed, may have begun recording as soon as power was applied to the aircraft. “Flight time” ends when the aircraft terminates at its parking location even if the engine continues to be operated for some period of time. Pilots, who log “flight time” based on tachometer readings or a Hobbsmeter, may be in error.

http://www.faasafety.gov/hottopics.aspx?id=20