Complete Newbie Seeking Advice

Hello all,

This is my first post here, and I'd like to first start off by thanking you all for all the info I've picked up through lurking. It is my experience that internet forums can be some of the most valuable assets to someone looking for information on a specifc topic.

A little bit about myself: I'm an engineering grad who has recently realized that sitting in a cube for the next 30 years is not exactly how I want to spend the rest of my life. After a short stint of thinking about going to law school or getting an MBA, I realized that maybe money isn't exactly what I'm looking for. I've tried to be honest with myself and I think I've found what I want to do with my life, and since I'm here, you can probably guess what that is.

Training: Are there any quality flight schools in Houston? I've found a lot of places for fixed wing, but not helicopters. Maybe I'm not looking in the right place.

Career Prospects: Some websites say finding a job is very hard. Others say there is shortage of pilots due to Vietnam Vets retiring. What is the truth?

Salary: I don't need to be rich, but I do need to pay the bills. After researching I've found salary figures ranging from 20k to 110k for experienced pilots. What are some real world salary figures? Salary.com lists the average helicopter pilot salary around 80k. That seems high, but I don't really know.

Any other advice is definitely appreciated.

Welcome,