Flight school funding????

Hello all!

Newbie here, been lurking for about a week, finally signed up yesterday. I've got my fixed-wing MEL w/ only a 100 or so hours. I planned on working my way thru CFII, but quit due to money issues. I haven't flown in about 5 years now. You can imagine how much I miss it. I've decided that I want to make a career of flying but am thinking really hard about going helo instead. That's why I'm here.

Here's my problem: I'm not wealthy, nor is anyone in my family, so paying cash isn't an option. Due to a failed business venture, my credit is unimaginably bad. I was turned down by Sallie Mae when my credit was still decent (to finish my fixed wing stuff), so I know it's not gonna happen now.

Are there any other financing/lesson options that you guys know of other than military? Nothing wrong w/ military, but everything I've read here says it's not the way to go for strictly training and timebuilding. (And then there's all that running........ :blink:) Are there any lending institutions that work w/ higher credit risk situations like mine? Thanks in advance for you help!!

BTW- I hope you don't mind having a poser plank driver hanging out here....