New to the community; Need advice...

Hey everyone,

My name is Jonathan and I currently work as a physician here in Las Vegas, NV. Tomorrow I'm planning on visiting a flight school because I'm considering changing jobs. I was thinking of going through the training and working on medi-flights. Currently I make about $70,000.00 a year and like my job, but I'm really wanting to fly helicopters. I'm 27 married with a newborn. Think this is a smart carrer move?

Thanks,

Jonathan

Easy, keep your day job and fly on the weekends. You should be able to afford flying lessons. You are just starting out as a Dr. and your salary can only go up from there! After you shell out $70,000 for training and you starve for about 8-10 years building hours you might be back to that $70,000 a year salary. Of course you will have moved 27 times and been divorced by then also. If you really get the bug, see if your local area has a search and resue helicopter (Las Vegas Metro has a huey). Then you can volunteer to be a flight Dr. and get all the flight time you want. Just my to cents and it would be an easy decision for me.

Wise words from Eagle1.

Also, pilots (who are unable to fly for whatever reason) who wish to be pilots will always watch helicopters as they fly over and wish they were up there. As a doctor you may watch doctors in the ER with the same desire to change positions as you drop off another patient as an EMS pilot. Find what your career passion is and do that. That way you'll only be looking at yourself and be content with what you are currently doing.

Here is one other consideration.