Rare site...

I live in Denver Colorado and you rarely see a Chinook flying overhead, we mostly have Blackhawks and Hueys in the area. Tonight I had the pleasure of seeing a Chinook fly over my house. I have no knowledge of how they work, but the question came to mind, how do you auto one? If the transmission to one of the M/R fail and the other keeps turning under power, if that's how it works, what are the EPs? Thanks, Jeff

Very interesting. I'm a little curoius about that myself.

My guess that if a shaft breaks, you'd notice a pitch change and probably throw the collective down and land asap.

I wonder if there's a chinook EP dot com out there?

Later

I spent a week working on Chinnocks at an RAF base here in England. Very interesting...

There were 4 in from the Middle East and i was given the task of taking the gear shafts down to components and cleaning the sand out :P Then trying to put em back together. So i could tell you how the gear shaft works but not a clue how they auto...

Another experience for me was flying in one to a museum about a year ago. They are EXTREMLY loud...Earplugs required just for sitting in the back. And also very cold and breezy. Bloody good fun though :D

Yes, I asked my instructor at ground school this morning and they do have a driveshaft between the two rotors. He wasn't sure how an auto would work in one either. What made me remember the question was a video he showed of a Chinook during a test that was tied down to the ground. The topic at the moment was ground resonance. It shook so bad even after he killed it that it ripped the rear rotor tower off the helicopter.

I spent a week working on Chinnocks at an RAF base here in England. Very interesting...

There were 4 in from the Middle East and i was given the task of taking the gear shafts down to components and cleaning the sand out :P Then trying to put em back together. So i could tell you how the gear shaft works but not a clue how they auto...