Manifold Pressure

I'm a mechanic by trade, but this always gets me confused:

What exactly IS manifold pressure?

This is where I run into trouble. I know that between the carb and the intake valves there is no pressure unless a supercharger or turbocharger is pushing in the air. Since these Lycomings have no super/turbo charger, where does this pressure come from? The only thing between the carb and intake is a vacuum.

Am I missing something here?

Your answer may may cause an epiphony.(sp?)

Later

Witch, Witch, Witch.

Manifold pressure is the measure of pressure between the intake and the cylinders, the pressure will always be lower than atmopheric in a naturally aspirated machine it is the pressure in the manifold relivate to the outside pressure.

Turbo/super chargers force air into the manifold thus causing a pressure higher than the outside pressure resulting in greater hosrepower output.

clear as mud?

The pressure inside the engine comes from the outside air, barometric pressure. In a naturally aspirated engine, the manifold pressure will never be higher than the ambient air pressure. With the engine shut down the manifold pressure gauge is measuring the outside air pressure.

When the engine is running, the suction from the cylinders decreases the air pressure inside the intake tubes, because the throttle butterfly restricts the amount of air that is allowed into the engine. As you open and close the throttle the size of the restriction changes, allowing more or less air into the engine. If more air is allowed in the manifold pressure will be higher, if less air is allowed in then the manifold pressure will be lower. There is never a vacuum in the intake tube.

Witch, Witch, Witch.

Manifold pressure is the measure of pressure between the intake and the cylinders, the pressure will always be lower than atmopheric in a naturally aspirated machine it is the pressure in the manifold relivate to the outside pressure.

clear as mud?

Nope.