Renter's Insurance

Hey all, so I decided to look into renter's insurance. I'm a student pilot with about 31 hours (and loving every minute of it!). So I called up the AOPA to find out more about it but the problem is that I'm 21 years old and their minimum age is 25. Apparently 21 year old pilots are way too wreckless to insure...

Anyway, I asked the kind lady if she knew of any other insurance companies that might help me out and she mentioned Avemco. But as far as I can tell (I just started looking at them now and will call tomorrow to confirm), they only offer insurance for fixed-wing aircraft.

So... I'm wondering if any of you know of somewhere where I can get insurance. I think of myself as a safe and responsible pilot, but I have very few hours and I feel like I should always be prepared for the worst.

fly safe,

walter

As best as I can tell, there isn't any renter's insurance to be had for helicopters, at any price...

If anyone knows of any, please let me know, as I'd be very interested...

As best as I can tell, there isn't any renter's insurance to be had for helicopters, at any price...

If anyone knows of any, please let me know, as I'd be very interested...

AOPA does issue policies for rotary. The standard form is for fixed wing, you just have to call and talk to them. When I was a student with about 50 hours or so, I think the premium was about $500 a year, that just covered the 10K deductible from my flight school. As far as I know, they still offer the policies ( apparently though only if your over 25)

$500/year premium for a max. payout of $10K? Just a guess, but I'm thinking they have a stack of those policies gathering dust in a back room somewhere.

Unless it also has a liability portion to cover property damage to others (i.e. property owned by others that the errant helicopter damages)

Anyone have a phone number to call for AOPA's insurance?

Thanks...

Anyone have a phone number to call for AOPA's insurance?

Thanks...