Any new information/contacts for CBP Air and Marine?

CBPo

I am a CBP officer who dreams of one day flying. I love Law Enforcement and I love flying so if I could find a feasible way of combining the two then well...... :D

I know this has been a previously discussed topic but if anyone currently in CBP air and marine could help give me guidance or *hope* on accomplishing this I would be much obliged.

I have very limited experience, basically I've chartered a few Helicopter tours on various vacations...sad yes, but it fueled my desire to be a pilot.

So please if you or anyone else knows the wherabouts of these people call 1-800.... or just shoot me an Email

thanks

I am a CBP officer who dreams of one day flying. I love Law Enforcement and I love flying so if I could find a feasible way of combining the two then well...... :D

I know this has been a previously discussed topic but if anyone currently in CBP air and marine could help give me guidance or *hope* on accomplishing this I would be much obliged.

I have very limited experience, basically I've chartered a few Helicopter tours on various vacations...sad yes, but it fueled my desire to be a pilot.

So please if you or anyone else knows the wherabouts of these people call 1-800.... or just shoot me an Email

thanks

I have worked with CBP air and know several pilots. It is quite difficult to become a pilot for their agency. They do not train from within like many police departments. You need to be dual rated for both fixed wing and helicopter. In addition they have a very high minimun entrance requirement which includes multi engine and IFR endorsements. Many of their pilots come from the military as it is way to expensive to get all those ratings on ones own. You can check the CBP web site for specifics.

First....you may want to join the Airborne Law Enforcement Association. You only need to be law enforcement to join. www.alea.org