question on s-turns-vs- attitude

Hello all,

I am about 5 hrs into my flight training, and i have noticed while doing S-turns, that the attitude of the helicopter is different from a left turn to a right turn.

I am flying a 300cb and it seems that at about 60 knots, while turning left the helicopter wants to go into a nose down attitude, while in a right turn the helicopter seems to hold altitude or even climb slightly. Is this possible? I realize that i am a newb, and mabee it just seems that way to me, but something feels quite different between a left turn and a right turn.

I am hoping some of you experienced pilots here can explain this to me in simple terms, or just tell me i am crazy, which ever the case mabee.

Thanks in advance :)

There are a couple of things that could be going on in your descending left and ascending right turns...first I'd probably guess that when you apply left cyclic you're also pushing forward because of the mechanics of the arm, and vice versa for the right turns: try to concentrate on applying only lateral cyclic, even look down while practicing it to be sure.

Secondly, the schwiezer usually sits in a left skid low attitude, due mostly to CoG issues with the fuel tank, if you dont have the heli trimmed properly in a turn the nose can dip or rise due to this yaw. Keep an eye on the trim string.

And third; wind has an effect on performance in a turn. Steeper into the wind and shallower away from the wind.

As to whether you're crazy or not....you are trying to become a heli pilot arent you?

...and fourth, and most important, the rotor system experiences different aerodynamics in a left vs right turn. When you turn left, the advancing blade is getting a higher relative airspeed (it is on the outside of the circle), so it wants to flap up, requiring forward cyclic to counter the tendancy. When turning right, the effect is reversed.