First post... What do you think of my idea?

Well, I've wanted to fly helicopters as long as I can remember. I'm 22 and am about to get my degree (next semester, spring 2007) in marketing. I am currently self employed as an auto broker. I have been doing this for about 2 years now. I could never really picture myself in the marketing world, and I already know I don't want to be an auto broker as a living, although it can be quite lucrative.

I am thinking about enrolling at Silver Hawk Aviation. I, like most of us, don't have $70,000 cash laying around. I am thinking about doing the Sallie May thing, but only because I believe that I can pay it off a little bit quicker than the average person because of my supplemental income from my auto brokerage.

I am also considering having my parents and grandparents help me out. They are both very excited for me to do this, and I know they would be willing to help out financially. Between them, I think I would have the majority of my tuition covered.

So, basically, between a degree, dealer's license, and pilot's license, I think I have some opportunities.

Thanks for reading.... Any input?

I'm in the market for a new truck B)

Why not do your marketing/flying carreer one better? Wheel & deal in helicopter sales ?

I think you have a good plan, as a start--just keep going.

[sounds like a good plan, but dont be fooled about paying your loans off quickly and having grandpa help you. I think everyone that has ever gotten a loan, had very good plans and intentions on paying the loan off quickly. sallie mae and any loan company will loan you the money, but at a very high interest rate. if yoiu can get a line of credit on a house or something, that might be better.

on the other hand, anyone who goes into flying helicopters and already has a good paying job, is one step ahead of the game, always good to have supp income and something to fall back on.

do you research and you should be fine. just proceed with caution.........