Switching category... is there a written exam?

I have my commercial and instrument ratings (helicopter), and I am now almost finished with my private airplane rating. I have not taken a written for the airplane yet, and I am not sure if I must. Seeing as I am a commercial pilot in a different category, is there a required written test? My instructor spoke with the examiner, and they said I would have to take the full private pilot airplane written test, which seems like it is a waste of time. I am not sure if they are correct because i have been unable to get a hold of the FSDO this week (maybe b/c of thanksgiving?) Does anyone know where I can find out exactly what i need to do? Seems like it isn't too often instructors encounter the cml heli guy working on his private asel.

Thanks

Chris

Your DPE is wrong. You do NOT need to take another written for a category add-on to a private or commercial certificate. Part 61 does not say that you "do not need to take a written......", but also doesn't say that you need to. You only need to take the knowledge (written) to qualify for a private or commercial certificate--which you already have. Notice where it talks about the knowledge test--it's under the main "private" or "commercial" heading along with the age limit, language, etc. It's not mentioned under airplane, rotorcraft, glider, etc training & experience req's (if it was under those headings, then you'd need to take it.)

Furthermore, you are not getting a "private airplane/SEL certificate", you are getting a Commercial certificate on which your are authorized to commercially fly a helicopter under IFR & VFR, but you only have "Private Privileges: Airplane SEL." You are still a commercial pilot when you fly an airplane, you just cannot exercise the privs of one.