SFAR 73

I've been a pilot for about 22 years, and I'm relatively new to helicopters--just getting my CFII 1 1/2 years ago. I did all my helicopter training in a 300CBi, and I have a couple hours dual in a B206-B and about 6 hours in an R-22. Before flying the R-22, I heard a lot of bad things. One experienced instructor I talked to tried to mitigate all the bad things I had heard, but it was hard to believe. Additionally, Robinsons have special requirements for acting as PIC and even manipulating the controls that are set out by SFAR 73. So why shouldn't I believe the negative things people say about Robinsons? The crux of the negative comments was two-fold. First, they have low rotor inertia, so you can really get into trouble fast if your engine fails and don't get the collective down IMMEDIATELY. Second, rotor RPM is such a big issue, that Robinson finally had to install a governor to keep people from getting into a low rotor RPM condition, a problem associated with low rotor inertia.

I finally had the opportunity to take some dual in an R-22. At the first lesson, I didn't really like it, but that was due to the design of the cyclic. I did, however, admit that it seemed more stable while hovering with a tailwind that the 300. By the second lesson, I had become comfortable with the cyclic and about the only thing I didn't care for was the lack of a force trim on the cyclic that the 300 has. By now, I think it is a fine machine. It is faily well-behaved in an autorotation, and it's easier to fly than the 300 because the governor all but takes away your concern for maintaining rotor RPM. Part of the SFAR 73 requirement is to fly it with the governor off. The correlator on the R-22 is MUCH better than the correlator on the 300. I only had to tweak the throttle once or twice from pick-up, around the pattern, to set-down.