Will the iraq pilot's take alot of jobs from regualr pilots?

elpinoman

Unlike after the Vietnam war, the U.S. helicopter industry is very mature and the U.S. Army has not recently increased the number of aircraft in its inventory. The Army makes about the same number of pilots every year that it has since before Sept. 11, 2001 because it has that same number of aircraft in its inventory. I don't believe that your father's fears are accurate at all.

• 4 weeks later...

Before I anger anyone w/my comments I will let it be known that I am a disabled US army combat vet, and I'm also an industry long line pilot. My opinion on military pilots is this, and it is only my opinion. US army helicopter flight training is the best in the world but there are a couple of problems when it comes to finding employment in the civilian sector, one is the fact that most military pilots have never soloed a machine while in the military, which is a possible red flag when it comes to cockpit management, another factor and possible problem w/ the UH/60 pilots is power management, if you try to grab a armpit full of collective in any other machine on the civilian side it is not nearly as forgiving. Now I've never flown a 60, I'm a UH/1 guy but this is my understanding, and if I look at a resume w/75% UH/60 time I see another red flag. Now this can all be overcome and please dont think I'm bashing anybody most of these guys are much better pilots than myself, this is just an observation and some insight into the civilian industry and how it works. I'm sure that there will be pilots coming home from the war and finding work on this side but I wouldn't be to concerned about a flooded market. Hope I was helpful to some of you looking at a career as a RW pilot.

P.S. Sorry for any spelling errors.

Guy