Best clothes for flying with safety in mind

napalm

I am a helicopter/ fixed wing pilot and fly in an area of the world that I can't wear nomex in because it gives the locals the impression I am military (could be a bad thing). What types of clothes would be best to wear that would give some fire protection in an onboard fire or post-crash fire? I here that polyester is bad because it melts to your skin. Is a 100% cotton fabric the best? Any other suggestions? Thanks

If you absolutly cannot wear a nomex flight suit (which doesn't offer as much protection as some think) then 100% cotton and/or wool. Polyester is BAD BAD BAD because it does melt to your skin. All leather above the ankle boots for foot protection. Cotton socks without elastic is best underneith. Pants should be denim, or other cotton fabric. Shirt should be 2-3 layers of 100% cotton, long sleeves is best. And of course nomex gloves. If you REALLY want to go all the way, then a nomex fire hood under a helmet couldn't hurt.

Or how about this...

16489.jpg

If you absolutly cannot wear a nomex flight suit (which doesn't offer as much protection as some think) then 100% cotton and/or wool. Polyester is BAD BAD BAD because it does melt to your skin. All leather above the ankle boots for foot protection. Cotton socks without elastic is best underneith. Pants should be denim, or other cotton fabric. Shirt should be 2-3 layers of 100% cotton, long sleeves is best. And of course nomex gloves. If you REALLY want to go all the way, then a nomex fire hood under a helmet couldn't hurt.

Or how about this...

16489.jpg

better have some kick @$$ a/c to wear that badboy