Flight Schools / Costs / Payscales / Getting A Medical

I'M WONDERING WHERE I SHOULD TRAIN. HOW MUCH WILL IT COST AND HOW DO I PAY FOR IT? DO I NEED A MEDICAL? SHOULD I FIND A SCHOOL THAT HAS R22'S? ALSO, HOW MUCH WILL I GET PAID AS A PILOT? IS SILVER STATE A GOOD SCHOOL?

Just kidding. I'm just posting to introduce myself, let you all know I'll be lurking around here, and to fish for any random advice you all may have.

I'm 21 years old and currently live in Lincoln, NE. I work as a line guy at KLNK. I've always wanted to be a pilot. I'm unhealthily infatuated with aviation. I have had this interest, like many of you, from a very young age. For several years I've let my secondary interest, being rich one day, take priority. I attended the University of Nebraska (Go Huskers!) but quit recently when I decided to quit ignoring my instincts. I don't want to be indoors at a desk in a suit and tie for the rest of my working life doing a job that I dislike (but tolerate because it pays well). I want to be out and about, doing something exciting and a bit dangerous--something dynamic.

Now I'm working on my new plan. I have zero flight hours, little money, and a lot of motivation. There really aren't any helicopter training opportunities here in Nebraska, so I've accepted that I'll have to relocate. My lease ends in August. My father lives in Houston. I'm considering moving in with him while I train to ease the finances a little bit. Not my idea of fun, but it's just one of the many sacrifices I expect to have to make. Another advantage in Houston is that entry-level work pays much better. Right now, I work full-time making $8.50/hr. After rent and bills, I don't have much left. If I live with my father, I'll be able to live much cheaper than I am now AND be able to take advantage of the higher wages in Houston.