Please tell me I am not totally crazy...

I have just taken the leap, and can now see just how far there is to fall. Well maybe I should explain a little...

I am a married 31 year old, father of two, and captain of a Diving Support Vessel working in the GoM. I am also a 19 hour student pilot. I have done exhaustive research picking schools and looking at the industry, and I am positive that flying is what I really want to do for a living. I am lucky in that my wife has a very good job at a major university and totally supports what I am doing, and has even arranged some extra money for the summer so we can afford for me to be unemployed for a while.

I gave notice to my employer today and have two weeks of paychecks left before becoming another poor helicopter flight student. I am surprised at the amount of anxiety that I now have at facing starting over with a new career, even one that I have dreamed about since I was a kid.

I was just wondering if everybody else has gotten that feeling, and how long it took to get over it. I am hoping the next time I pull pitch, I will totally forget I ever did anything else. Let me know what you think...

I was just wondering if everybody else has gotten that feeling, and how long it took to get over it. I am hoping the next time I pull pitch, I will totally forget I ever did anything else. Let me know what you think...

Never really realised what I was going to put my wife and kids through at the time, until I was in it and doing it. BUT BOY WAS IT WORTH IT!!! Sure, had to live on the $25 a year that the instructor job paid - but your wife is working too, so you won't have any worries at all!!! Treat the training like a full time job, study and fly between 9-5 and have the weekends and evenings off with the kids and the wife. That worked real well for the me and the family. Remember - they are going through this too - and if the kids are not happy, the wife won't be happy - and you really, really don't want to go there!!!