So, this has been troubling me. I'm posting this in the flight training section because I still feel I am training and have a lot to learn. I am still a confident private pilot though.

In the past I had been told that a helicopter rated pilot flying someone without at least a private helicopter license had to remove the dual controls. This is unless they were a CFI or better. I have since been told this isn't true. I can not find anything in the FAR/AIM that tells me either way so I am to assume I can leave them in. Does anyone have input on this? If I was flying random people I would just take them out but since I am flying people I know and trust I would prefer to leave them in.

I started out in robinsons a long time ago so maybe this is a robinson rule that just stuck with me. Maybe it was also just a personal rule from one of my many instructors.

If anyone can find it or knows it can you cite it in the FAR please?

Thanks for any and all help guys and gals.

I've never heard of any requirement to remove the controls, you just can't permit the pax to manipulate them. Almost every airplane has dual controls installed, and it's a major chore to remove them, if it's even possible. In the US, anything not specifically prohibited is allowed, and I see nothing in the FARs that prohibits flying passengers with dual controls installed.

After looking around a bit the only thing I could find was a caution note in the Robinson PoH that said

"For helicopters with removable controls, remove left seat controls if person in that seat is not a rated helicopter pilot".

It's in the Normal Procedures section on page 4-5