Converting Military time

Rick.

I'm an Army Guard pilot looking at civilian jobs. My question is about logging PIC time for civilian purposes. I'm a little confused on how to depict my flight time in civilian terms.

FAR Part 61.51 says I can log pilot-in-command time "When the pilot is the sole manipulator of the controls of an aircraft for which the pilot is rated..." (Hueys & Hawks), or "When the pilot is the sole occupant in the aircraft" (-58's).

As it's common to fly with other Army PC's we end up taking turns logging PC or PI time - it's one or the other. And as I reflect on the typical dual pilot flight the actual hands-on-the-controls is generally split 50-50. So the first question is: would I be justified in counting 50% of the PI time as PIC time for FAA purposes under the sole manipulator rule? Coming up with exact times actually on the controls would be problematic as it's not tracked. Even though I have upwards of 4,000 hours my (FAA) PIC time seems woefully low if I count just the Army PC time as FAA PIC time.

FAR 61.51 also refers to who you are in the cockpit, not what you're doing with the controls: "When the pilot ... acts as pilot in command of an aircraft for which more than one pilot is required ... the regulations under which the flight is conducted." This is what the military calls "PC" or "aircraft commander" time and what the FAA calls "designated pilot-in-command" time. So the other question is: for the purposes of converting military flight time do employers consider both types ("sole manipulator of the controls" and "designated pilot-in-command") as PIC time? (I understand airlines only look at the latter.)

Obviously the best outcome for me would be to show both types of PIC time to include crediting 50% of my Army PI ("sole manipulator") time. An example in an aircraft requiring 2 pilots:

• Flt 1: 2 hour flight logged as PC (credit 2 hours PC under designated pilot-in-command time)