Flight training

Hi everyone i'm planning to move to new york next summer and want to acquire my pilots licence. I have no pilot experience but have enjoyed many flights. I hope to be in the queens area of ny so im looking advice on flight schools int that area.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Phil.

Hi Phil, You have 4 options that I know about that are quite accesible to the queens area but none are really easy from there. Helicopter Flight Training Inc at MacArthur Airport in Ronkonkoma is about an hour drive from the Queens area depending on traffic of course. Pegasus Helicopters in Lindin NJ is also about an hour drive. Nassau Helicopters in Princeton, NJ is about a 1.5 hour drive. And, Wings air up in White Plains, NY should be about a 1-1.5 hour drive. I work in one of those schools and have worked in 2 of the others part time. I won't voice my opinions about them in a public forum as I still have some good friends & former students working at them. PM me if you like and I can help point you in the right direction.

There is also a small school at Republic Airport in Farmingdale - about 35 minutes from Queens (double that if you're driving out there in the afternoon). I HIGHLY recommend the guy I fly with there. You'll be hard pressed to find a better instructor. PM me if you're interested and I'll give you his number.

As little off topic, but does anyone know of any schools that LIMIT the # of hours a CFI can accrue before they are asked to "move on" making room for newer CFI's?

I'm a "newly minted" CFI and "shopping" for potential employers for the next few years. I don't want to work somewhere and hit 1,000 hours and get laid off. Especially since 1,000 no longer means anything. 1,500 seems to be the new 1,000.

As little off topic, but does anyone know of any schools that LIMIT the # of hours a CFI can accrue before they are asked to "move on" making room for newer CFI's?