Guard WOFT procedure

Yet another poor noob here. I've been trolling this forum for awhile now, but i'm a little unclear as to how to get this started. I understand getting a packet together, but what should I do first? A little background: I'm 28, married with child, no college, working as fedex drone, just purchased house. Living in PA. Looked at civilian pilot school, and realized one mortgage is enough. :)

1. Would it be appropriate for me to call the aviation battalion in Ft. Indiantown Gap to set up a time to interview some pilots, and get to know them?

2. I'm currently studying for the AFAST, etc. Should I contact a recruiter to schedule my ASVAB/AFAST?

3. I have read on here about getting a WO recruiter. How would I go about getting one?

4. Can the interview/packet process be done without enlisting? I don't want to enlist and then somehow get swept under a rug, stuck doing something I don't want to do.

That's all I have for now. I"m sure I'll have more questions. Any help I can get would be awesome. Thanks!

• Like 2

1. Just like in the civilian world, networking is key. Do what you can to get to know some people in the right places.

2. Definitely contact a recruiter about the ASVAB and AFAST.

3. Go to nationalguard.com. Go to the warrant officer page. Submit a request for information. You will be contacted.

4. It is my understanding that to submit a warrant officer packet for a guard slot you must be enlisted in the guard or transitioning from active duty(regular army or any other branch).