I just started training and this may be a stupid question. But everyone keeps saying never land with a tailwind. Can somone explain aerodynamically why this is bad?

I am sure I will find out in training but I wanna know now.

Settling with power (aka vortex ring state) is one good reason. Time to hit the books dude.

I'll try to answer (even though I've only done the reading). The blades send vortices off the tips when the helicopter is generating lift. If you try to fly in these vortices, the angle of attack/relative wind for the rotor system is affected. Add in the effect of rate of descent flow through the rotor system during your approach, and you end up with stalled sections of the blades and less lift than you'd like to have for the power you're using. Somebody's going to ding me for saying the rotor is stalled--it's not completely stalled, but part of it is, and part of it is not generating lift because of excessive induced flow. Pulling more collective makes the situation worse. During descents, you need to maintain forward speed to fly out of your vortices or descend fast or slow enough to just avoid them. With a tailwind and insufficient forward speed, the vortices can get blown back into the rotor system (similar concept to wake turbulence avoidance), and you're one step closer to making a really quick descent.

There are some other good reasons related to the effects of a tailwind on the tail rotor and the helicopter itself (weathercocking tendency and tail rotor VRS can occur under some tailwind condtions), but they aren't necessarily related to approaches.