Insurance for Private Ownership

lwalling

I've been shopping for insurance and financing recently for a prospective R44 purchase.

I've obtained a few quotes, some of which are insanely expensive (AIG takes the cake so far at $33,000 for non-income use).

Who do you suggest for insurance coverage. I know Pathfinder is an option, but would prefer not to use them if I can find real coverage at within 30%~ of Pathfinder which I think should be possible.

Yes, I am a new rotorcraft pilot, so that will drive the premiums up that much more.

On the lending front - if anyone is interested - Dorr Aviation and Airfleet Capital have been the most competitive, flexible, and responsive of those I've contacted (quite a few ..). Dorr has been selected this point, and provided their approval in less than 24 hours.

Thanks.

How many hours do you have? That is really going to determine which markets are interested. Contact the Sutton James brokerage if you haven't already, they offer the Robinson program through AIG, and it is calculated at a reduced rate compared to the typical AIG premium. I'd stay away from Pathfinder unless you can't find anything else, there is a lot of fine print in their policies (like if Robinson is sued they can use up your liability limit to defend themselves, and if you wreck the helicopter you have to transport it at your expense to Robinson's facility). Unfortunately, with helicopter insurance, everything is insanely expensive, and since you're financing the helicopter you'll need full hull coverage. PM me if you need help figuring out who a good broker is if Sutton James can't get you a quote. A lot of the times it's the agent's relationship with an underwriter that can get the job done.

I've been shopping for insurance and financing recently for a prospective R44 purchase.

I've obtained a few quotes, some of which are insanely expensive (AIG takes the cake so far at $33,000 for non-income use).