Logging Flight Time

Ryan S

I am a military pilot and log flight time per AR 95-1 (Army Regulation)

In AR 95-1

2–7. Computation of flying time

Flying time starts when an airplane begins to move forward on the takeoff roll or when a helicopter lifts off the

ground. Flying time ends when the aircraft has landed and the engines are stopped or the flying crew changes.

I have heard a number of rumors about the way that civilians log Helo time and I was hoping that someone could set me straight. I have heard that as a military pilot we can add from 10% to 30% on to our flight time when we go civilian. This being based on Civilians starting their time when the battery turns on or when the first engine starts. Also being that my aircraft has wheels and I am not logging time when I am ground taxiing.

When do most civilians start logging time? and is it true that I can add hours when applying to a civilian job. I am not wanting to cheat. I am mostly just curious, but I would like to be on a level playing field upon the first look.

Thanks,

Ryan

Generally speaking we log time based on the Hobbs meter. Now the Hobbs meter can be run different ways, most common are an oil pressure switch or a collective up switch. For example, the R22 hobbs starts to count as soon as oil pressure is detected in the engine, so any time the engine is running, we can log that as time.

How that applies to transitioning hours from mil to civ I'm not sure. Do a forum search and you'll find at least one topic on tracking Hobbs time on this site.

I have heard a number of rumors about the way that civilians log Helo time