commercial pilot question

I'm studying for my commercial ticket and have a few scenerio questions.

Scenerio: New commercial pilot: Friend calls you up and says he needs to get to another

town and will pay you and the fuel for YOUR aircraft to fly him there. He will get his own transportation back home.

I'm thinking yes, since you did not advertise or make any claim to provide this service to anyone.

Let me stress that I have learned/read about "holding out" and how that kicks into part 135.

Scenerio: Same as above, except friend pays for a rental aircraft and wants to pay you to fly him there.

I'm thinking again that it is ok, since friend arranged aircraft and is in control of the schedule/destination.

Thanks for the help.

Mike

First scenario sounds like an on-demand operation and I'd look at 119.1.e.vii.

The second one...the rental part is the catch I can't get around. If it was his aircraft, that would seem like a part 91 operation. But him renting it...

Just putting my guess in the hopper. Besides, it's 9p on a Friday night...what are you expecting?

Both are 135, no question about it.

The one way trip is the dead giveaway. However, even if it was a roundtrip it could still be 135. It doesn't need to be advertised, planned, etc--you are an air taxi--no way around it.

For instance, if you fly a photographer somewhere, land somewhere to take pictures (from the ground), then they get back in the helicopter and fly home, that's 135. It's an air taxi--you ferried them from A to B so they could do something, then flew them home. If they took those pictures from the air and you just landed for fuel, food, rest, etc, then that's ok.

Just use this general rule: If it sounds anything like 135 or Air Taxi, that is what the FAA will interpret it as.