Robinson vs. Schweizer training schools??

nodukes

Hello all! This is my first post here on this fabulous board, so please forgive me if this has been talked about before to exhaustion. I searched, but did not find a thread on this.

I am a newbie about to take the leap into flight school, and am trying to decide between 2 different schools. One school, like most, trains in the R-22, and R-44. The other school uses the Schweizer 300cbi, and 300c models. Now I must say, I like the schools equally, so my real question is:

WHICH ONE WILL BENEFIT ME MORE??

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I have been researching going to school for awhile, and this website has been a tremendous help...so thank you to all who contribute!!

Welcome to the board. And to this addiction. The first question that needs to be asked is what are your goals? Second you need to do a demo flight in both types and see which is more comfortable for you. Next, which school seems more stable. Fist of all you what a school that will be around for awhile, not disappear some night on a holiday weekend. Also you need to be comfortable with the school and its procedures and policies.

If you are looking at this as a career move on your part, the R22 MIGHT be the right choice as many more flight schools use them for flight training. Keep in mind that it is not because it is a better trainer. Even Frank Robinson admits it wasn't designed as a trainer, but because it is cheaper than the 300. With that will your total training costs be less in the R22? Probably not, keeping in mind SFAR 73 and the fact that the 300 instills student confidence much easier. If you are over about 175 pounds, getting an instructor job in an R22 is much more difficult. Keep in mind that many schools use 300's, plus some schools use types like Enstroms, BH47's and Hiller's, however in a much lesser degree. So finding an instructor job will be possible if you train in these other types.