Tour Pilots

Question for all you tour pilots our there

Do the pilots have to narrate the tour? Or is there some sort of recording that plays through the ship?

I was a tour pilot for two years in an R44. My boss pulled the headsets out of the helicopter because it "took too long" to put them on passengers. I took my door off for some passive ventilation. Needless to say, I wasn't narrating anything during the flight. It wouldn't have mattered much anyway, most of my passengers didn't speak English. I would point out interesting sights though (dolphins, fireworks, nearby laser shows, etc.).

I did tours over New York City for a while. Most operators there narrated the tours themselves. It got pretty busy sometimes with the air-air frequencies, especially considering all the heliport landing/departing traffic was on the same freq. Throw in LGA tower and the traffic alerts, and it gave me a headache. The tour narration became the first thing to go. It seldom mattered, as most of the pax didn't speak English.

The last post wasn't kidding about trying to get headsets on passengers. I have never seen such confusion over an otherwise facile event. Good for a few laughs though. I saw earcups turned inside out, and a buddy of mine saw the headband across the face like a football helmet. HA!

I took a tour in Vegas with Pappillon several years back, and they had a tape with some corny mood music. It made me feel cheap all over. ;)

The last post wasn't kidding about trying to get headsets on passengers. I have never seen such confusion over an otherwise facile event. Good for a few laughs though. I saw earcups turned inside out, and a buddy of mine saw the headband across the face like a football helmet. HA!