A&P ratings

Fred0311

So it looks like having an A&P rating is very helpful in getting hired as a pilot. I was wondering if anyone could share their experinces with it, the process by which you get your ratings, and if your end goal is flying is it worth investing in or would the money be better spent building time? Any input is much apreciated.

-Fred

Edited by Fred0311

Fred,

I've been a mechanic as well as a pilot for most of my career; in fact, as a teenager, I began turning wrenches on aircraft in order to pay for my flying. Over the course of my career, I've been a Director of Maintenance, Inspector, mechanic, and have worked in repair stations, charter operations, utility and government operations, and other types of flying and maintenance. I've troubleshot, repaired, fabricated, built, inspected, torn down, overhauled, restored, and done it on old biplanes, modern new airplanes, transport category aircraft, turboprops, turbojets, radials, gliders, military equipment, helicopters, civil public use, government aircraft and operations, and a few other things in between.

Let me say first of all that most of the jobs you may seek today won't be much more open to you if you have a mechanic certificate. A mechanic certificate can have two basic ratings and one authorization; the airframe and powerplant ratings, and one can eventually go get an inspection authorization, if needed. However, relatively few pilots are mechanics. Some jobs look for pilots who are mechanics, but usually those jobs are more interested in your mechanical ability (and your sign-off) than your flying, and will often keep you on the ground while others keep flying, in order to work on the aircraft.