Transitioning from the Army to civilian career??

So get prepared guys. I, like a lot of my fellow pilots in the Army are looking at taking the leap into commercial aviation. The blade hours are drying up and those of us that like to fly are not exactly looking at the same job satisfaction.

Having said that, I really don't want to turn off the advice tap from the straight civilian school guys. Unlike most of my fellow Army pilots, I am a Commissioned officer that transitioned into aviation later in my career, only have 1100 hours (com/inst of course), and do not have a track (Instructor pilot, maintenance test pilot, ect). I wrapped up my command last year and can't get a job anywhere near the cockpit for the foreseeable future.

So here are my questions;

1. What is the best way to transition into a civilian career.

Ok so thats a really broad question...

2. Should I try to teach first, look for a 44 tour job (or maybe Temsco :)), or try to fly the oil rigs.

3. I am 33 hours into the R22 and 2 hours into CFI training. I can wrap this in the next couple of months, but my CFI told me that I might be better off graduating from a big school that I could get a job from.

4. My "last 12 month hours" are abismal. I have been flying the R22 as much as I can afford, but how important is that 100 hours in the last 12 months in your experience.

So my track record of responses in this forum is pretty abismal too. Hopefully the HR VR will take some mercy on me.

• Like 1

• 2 months later...

You asked for a response, and now you have one...

Background on our company: Helicopter charter company serving primarily the utility industry in AR and surrounding states since 1983. We operate jetrangers and a token R44 for the sake of having a low price option for a few customers and keeping the new operator wannabes out of the market...

I can't answer all of your questions but I'll do my best...

1. What is the best way to transition into a civilian career.