rc helicopters

clay

yep all the time,

kindof what made me take the final step, I knew I always had a desire to fly helicopters, then when I started playing with RC cars, The guy at the store kept telling me how cool airplanes were and I wasn't listening to any of that, just wanted to see The rc helicopter section. the rc helicopters are usually more than airplanes and the require about twice the maintenence that airplanes do. They auto and fly pretty much the same.

I have about ten thousand dollars invested in Rc helicopters over the last couple of years. I have a 2,000 dollar nitro helicopter that is 90 size and just flies awsome, then I have a few more nitro helicopters of varoius sizes. One big electric helicopter, 30 size, the battery costs 250 dollars for just one battery to fly it. then I have a couple smaller electric ones that fly pretty good. I fly them inverted all the time and do all sorts of tricks with them, I learned auto rotations pretty quick when I started with all of the engine failures and radio problems I was having, no I can safley auto all of my birds, except the really tiny electric one.

they are alot of fun and really fly just the same, the do require meticulous maintenence because everything has to be in balance and functioning properly, so when you crash it can be time consuming and expensive. Now when I fly my nitro airplane every now and then, I don't worry about anything on that cause I can land that no matter what happens. one time the engine fell completly off the front of the airplane , cause the motor mount bolts just finaly all pulled out, the engine was hanging 6 inches down by the rubber fuel tubing and I just landed the plane on the grass field without any problems.

Some cool sites to look at helicopter, rc helicopters. www.runryder.com is the main forum for rc helicopters. kindof like vr is for real helicopters.