WOFT what's it like?

Hi, new guy here!

Let me introduce myself first, my name is Paul, I am 23, married no children (not in a hurry for them either), I have some college credits hours in gen. ed. classes but no degree. For the past 2 years I have been working full time as a draftsman. I am a volunteer firefighter, and as far as flight experience, I have none, I planned on getting my PPL out of high school, but my parents could not afford it and neither could I. I have always had an interest in flying in general, and particularly think I would enjoy flying a helicopter for an air ambulance service on down the road. My interest was pushed over the edge, into actually looking into flight training, a few weeks ago when a local Life-flight (sp?) helicopter landed near our fire station for a demostration to our members. I spent a good half hour afterwards talking to the pilot, be fore he had to return to the hospital. Of my options for becoming a pilot the one that sounds to offer the most reward for the least cut in income, is the army warrant officer program. I would like to know what I can expect if I choose to enter this program from others who are familiar with it.

- What are the chances I will be accepted with no previous flight experience?

- What are some typical duties, and what do you do when your not flying?

- How is the pay (i gotta ask)

- To anyone who has joined the military while married, how hard has teh decision been on both you and your spouse?

Thanks in advance for any help.

First off, do some research in the forum and you will find many of your answers....

Chances... Whatever YOU make of it. 0% if you don't try

Duties when you are not flying... Varies. TACOPS, Instructor, Maintenance, ALSE, Safety... Just name a few

Pay... Go to www.military.com they have all the pay charts on there.