please, explain this clip

Yuki

I agree with both the above. From the second view it looks like the forward speed had finally been reduced but as it slows his descent rate starts to increase, it's coning quite a bit twords the end which leads me to believe it's a Vortex Ring condition, again mearly speculation on that. I don't really know what the person writting the description is talking about when they say low rotor

I really like the guys comment in the first view, "Oh that's normal." right as the blade breaks. hahaha

I'm not sure it's impossible but I know that that for me as a low time pilot I'm probably going to hit the ground if I get VRS that low. so I'll just do like the instructors say, check airspeed, VSI, level the ship if you start sinking. If anything goes wrong hit level and inline.

Edited by beckwith

Can a pilot recognize a vortex ring condition so close to the ground (after a quick stop) and is there a way to get out of this condition after realizing it has been initiated?

Well, you should be aware of the condition before you ever even get into it. If you're pulling power, generally below 16kts, and in a moderate descent rate >300fpm you have all the criteria met. As far as being able to recover from it that close to the ground... You should be able to nose it over and get the airspeed back up, however I think they were a little too close to those trees and probably would have hit them anyway. It's always better to realize a bad situation and recover from it before it's too late.

Hi

Thanks for sharing that link

Looks like he was just way too hot and high for that LZ and elected to try to get in anyway...even after the "Wo' Horsey" maneuver didn't give him the slowing/closure drop that he hoped for!

Easy to say from my chair, but I think I'd have missed approach and gone around for another approach in to the LZ.

Oh a sh_thook wouldn't have made it in there either...