New Member w/ Questions

hi guys,

i am new to the forum, and new to helicopters/flying as well. i've got a few questions i was hoping you all would help me answer...

firstly, i am a 31 year old male living in Cincinnati, OH. i am a recent graduate of Univ. Cincinnati (English/Spanish major) and am now single and free to do what i want haha. long story short, i want to fly helicopters.

flying helicopters is not something i knew i wanted to do my whole life. i was always fascinated by them, but it wasn't until recently that it clicked in my head..."screw being a teacher (what i had wanted to do), i want to fly helicopters." for about the past 6 months, i have thought about it seemingly non-stop. i dream about it, i think about it while i'm talkin to people, i daydream about it. but admittedly, i am unsure where to start...

i want to know more about helicopters. i feel unprepared to even begin my journey, but i know that is because i am new to the heli scene altogether.

i have done a little bit of research on a local school here in Cincy (HigherGround Helicopters) that seems quite reputable, and i have a couple books- one on learning the basics of helicopter flight (published in the early '90s).

so, my questions...

-do you fly? if so, how long did you know you wanted to fly helicopters? part of me feels like helicopter pilots are a special breed...and it seems as though many of them knew their whole lives they were going to fly. the special breed part? i've got that down pat. but unlike many, flying was not a life-long dream...

-where do i begin in my journey to be a helicopter pilot? books, tours, videos, classes, etc.

-what type of flying do you do? med-evac, tourism, etc.

-what are things to look for when researching potential flight schools? how do i discriminate between one here in Cincinnati and another reputable one 300 miles away?

-do you love what you do?