Supplimenting Pilot LIcense plus Extra

Harlinder

I did a 1 hour flight here in St Louis and absolutely loved flying. Got the rotor bug and my wife and i researched and found i can afford the initial pilot license.I did a 7 year stint in the Army and have been out for a while and im a 22 vet of communications and VIOP tech.

Do you guys often see IT folk mix skills with Pilot to land jobs? Just curious. fly the chopper and do IT/VOIP related while not flying? Trynig see if it worth pursuing a career in Helicopters.

• Like 1

Having job skills outside aviation is always a good idea if one embarks on a flying career. Aviation lives on a razor-thin profit margin, and flight departments, companies, and even entire agencies tend to dry up overnight at the drop of an economic hat. Jobs go with them, and it's good practice to have other skills to stay employed.

I don't think there are very many employers that look for a pilot/IT professional combination, but it's very possible that you may become more valuable to an employer because of your skillset. Having additional abilities, certifications, etc, is always a good thing.

With most flying jobs, your'e either a pilot, or something else. Some companies like to have pilots doing other activities on behalf of the company when they're not flying. This is most commonly found in corporate jobs (some, but definitely not all). Most operators, however, don't want pilots too tied up or distracted doing other things; flying is often something that requires going to work with full devotion to flying and the dropping of all other things in one's life to make that happen. I keep a helmet and flight suit and gear in a bag ready to go around the clock, for example, and have responded to very short notice requests numerous times throughout my career. It's not that one can't be doing other jobs, but they often get pushed on the back burner when it's time to fly...which means sometimes they get delayed or not done.