Carbon Monoxide in Piston Helicopters

During the Holidays, I went for a introductory flight in a R22. I have been a fixed-wing pilot for 16 years but helicopters are my real aviation passion. The outside air temperature was -10°C so performance was great and cabin heat was on. As I always do when I fly in a piston aircraft, I carried along a CO detector (sometimes 2).

I was surprised to see that during the 30 minutes of the flight, my CO detector recorded on average 28 ppm with a maximum reading of 40 ppm. This was continuous. This level is below the NIOSH Recommended Exposure Limit of 35 ppm ( Nonetheless, I think that the cabin should be free of CO. I routinely recorded levels around 5 to 10 ppm on the ground in a C172 but once airborne, the level would return to 0.

Comments, observations ? Thanks.

• Like 1

During the Holidays, I went for a introductory flight in a R22. I have been a fixed-wing pilot for 16 years but helicopters are my real aviation passion. The outside air temperature was -10°C so performance was great and cabin heat was on. As I always do when I fly in a piston aircraft, I carried along a CO detector (sometimes 2).

I was surprised to see that during the 30 minutes of the flight, my CO detector recorded on average 28 ppm with a maximum reading of 40 ppm. This was continuous. This level is below the NIOSH Recommended Exposure Limit of 35 ppm ( Nonetheless, I think that the cabin should be free of CO. I routinely recorded levels around 5 to 10 ppm on the ground in a C172 but once airborne, the level would return to 0.

Comments, observations ? Thanks.

It’s not surprising given the turbulent flow all, piston and turbine, helicopters operate in while hovering and on the ground with the rotors turning, take a look at the figure below. The fact that the heater was on could also be an issue given any exhaust leaks or exhaust recirculation during prolonged hovering.