Gimme your no-nonsense assessment here

Here I am again still doing a bit more research on piloting as a career and once again I find myself wanting to pick the brains of those working within the industry rather than listening to the hype spouted by the schools. I'll start by giving you all a brief bio on myself then I'll lay out my questions.

BIO: I'm 30 years old, 5 ft 9 1/2 inches tall weighing in at 195 lbs...I could lose more but don't think I could conceivably drop below 180 due to just being built large. I'm a single father of a baby-boy about to turn 1 years old on April 13th and I have full custody of my son where his mom has him every other weekend. His mother would love to have him more often but I'd have to evaluate whether she's become responsable enough to really care for him...but let's suffice it to say that joint custody is an option should I want to pursue that. I'm currently a police officer for a city with a population of about 130k and 250k on gameday weekends (college town) and have worked all shifts and usually the projects. I'm good at what I do but I need a change in my life. I've been a police officer for over 5 years now and am tired of seeing just the horrible side of people. I own my home with about $40k in equity, have about $10k in the bank, own my car, my motorcycle, and could liquidate probably another $10k in assets if need be. So I find myself on the cusp of a life altering decision -- either return to college and finish up a degree or go to flight school to get my P/C/CFI/CFII licensing.

QUESTION 1: First off I'm aware of the instructional time that one must do to accumulate upon earning their CFI/CFII and hit the magic 1000 hours. My question is what are the average wages that you guys see for flight instructors on a yearly basis? I currently only make $30k/yr with another $6k/yr coming in from overtime and extra duty jobs to make ends meet. Would I be taking a huge salary hit by working a year as a flight instructor?