Control Uses

Well I am just starting to learn about how helicopters work. Not going to school or anything (yet) but I just figured I would try to figure out how things worked by myself because I like understanding how mechanical things work. Anyway, I am having a tough time trying to gather how everything work but from what I picked up, you have two pedals which control the tail rotor and allow you to spin to the left or right. Then my biggest problem is trying to understand the difference between teh collective and the cyclic. I think when you lower or raise the collective it adjust the angle of all the rotor blades, causing the helicopter to go up or down. The thing that doesnt make any sence to me is how the cyclic works. Does it adjust each blade indepentendly? So basically if you have the cyclic moved to the right, as the blades adjust as they reach the right side of the helicopter, causing it to pitch right, and then as they move toward the front of the helicopter they straiten out back to normal again? I think my idea on this might be wrong, but again, thats why I am here asking about it. Also, what role does the throttle play in all this. Are you always at full throttle or is adjusted for different moves? Thanks for the help in advance. BTW, I have my first demo flight on the 17th which I am very excited about. I know they will explain some of this stuff, but I really want to have a type of understandign of how stuff is working, instead of just which control will cause the helicopter to do what.

Pedals: Increas or decrease thrust from tail rotor (antitorque), used to neutralize the torque from the main rotor in the different phases of flight. If you produce more antitorque than torque (left pedal in US made helicopters) you will turn left. If you produce less antitorque than torque, you will turn right.