Need to decide my fate.

OK here it is in a nut shell. I got out of the Coast Guard last year thinking I would finish college and start a new career while I'm young( coming up on 30yrs old ) In the Cost Guard I was a flight mechanic and loved flying. Saved three lives in eight years of flying. Worked the radios. searched for missing people in the water, loved it all. I wasn't a pilot but a crew chief so I rode along for all the SAR / training flights for the pilots like stuck pedals, govenor failures, autos, etc. Well I find myself in college with a bunch of kids learning chemistry which I really don't have a desire to learn. I guess I just wanted the degree.

Anyways, I'm thinking about getting back into flying this time as a commercial helicopter pilot. Why not? I've always wanted to be at the controls and really see if making a running landing in a HH-65B Doulphine with a stuck left pedal is as hard as those nuggets cried it was. Believe me sitting in the back was more scarry knowing I was just along for the ride and couldnt wave off the approach!!

Heres whats holding me from diving into this career. MONEY!!!! I was quoted about 70 grand start to finish thats private, commercial, CFi, CfII, instruments everything no turbine time though. Since I dont have any amount near that much I would be taking almost all of it on a loan. Seems like a gamble since it seems like you could be out of a job at any time. What if your next flight physical grounds you for an unforseen condition? Also from what I have read, out of flight school your only job is a low paying instructor job on R-22's since you haven't had enough hours yet. Is this correct? Out of flight school are you only making 30 grand a year? How long until the pay increases and to how much? How do you get to fly turbine heli's? Mean while that dark cloud of debt is over you making you fly IFR!! The school is Classic Helicoper Ins in Seattle, WA. Any responses are appreciated

Use the force Luke.