Helicopter Flight School

Hey everyone. My name is Colby, I'm 18 years old and live in Arkansas. I am a fixed-wing pilot but believe I was born to be a helicopter pilot lol. I planned to be in fixed-wing flight school back in June until my Maj. in the CAP stopped me. The reason why he did was to fill me in with things about financing, such as SallieMae. I now understand since they are a private lender, not regulated by the government they can charge whatever interest they want. I'd hate to take out a $50,000 loan and repay triple that in interest. I believe though it's people that wait and wait years to pay it off is when the interest eats them alive.

I joined the CAP back in January and should have joined a long time ago but thought it was too military. Since then I've soloed and no longer have 20 something hours and going through numerous flight instructors and wasting money. I didn't get a medical until I joined because I was never told about getting one, good thing I passed it. I've always had an interest and for helicopters and the Bell 206L is my dream helicopter. This past Spring I signed up for an Army ROTC scholarship because I was talked into going military. If I ever went military I'd fly helicopters but it's all about getting the pilot slot. I backed out of it though thinking I was going to fixed-wing flight school.

This is where I've done my homework is comparing the civilian route vs. the military route, advantages and disadvantages of both. I look at it this way, 4 years of college and a year of flight training I'd be 23 or 24. Well going the civilian route, by that time I'd most likely have a job but that's fixed-wing I'm talking about. I do realize most pilots are ex-military. I've recently been looking at SSH and I'm glad I found these forums because you guys have just saved me a lot of stress of wanting to go look at their school in Tulsa.